If you suspect that your loved one is being abused in a nursing home, it is important to seek immediate care for them. Reporting the crime to the police and hiring a personal injury attorney are two ways you can quickly arm yourself to protect your loved one.
Although you thought you picked a safe haven for your aging parents or grandparents, you may realize they are not being properly taken care of. When this occurs, it places your loved one’s life in danger and allows someone to get away with neglect and abuse. A personal injury attorney can help you identify the source of the abuse and seek compensation for your loved one. Should death occur, you can pursue a wrongful death claim.
What Type of Abuse Can Occur?
Under the personal injury laws, abuse does not just have to be physical. While physical abuse is quite common and the most noticeable, abuse can occur sexually, financially, and emotionally as well. Determining the type of abuse your loved one is enduring will give you a starting point in your personal injury case.
Elder Abuse Is Against the Law!
• In Nevada, including Las Vegas, abuse of the elderly is considered illegal and when convicted, a person can face up to 20 years in prison.
• Elder abuse is considered any type of act that is knowingly performed by a caregiver resulting in any type of harm to the person. To be considered elder abuse in Nevada, an adult must be at least 60 years old.
• Federal laws also protect the elderly, with abuse laws in place to ensure medical professionals, and caregivers provide adequate care.
How to Identify Nursing Home Abuse
Nursing home abuse may be hard to detect at first, especially if you do not see your loved one on a regular basis. Often, you can identify abuse by watching the actions of your loved one. Elderly patients who are abused tend to become introverted and keep to themselves. They may show signs of fear or sadness.
If you hear a caregiver speaking down to an elderly person or calling them names, be on alert. Demeaning words are still considered abuse. You can also identify abuse by physical signs. If you notice your loved one seems to be too sedated or they have marks on their body, you should be on high alert and begin asking questions.
All nursing homes should be clean and sanitary. If the one that your loved one lives in is not, report it immediately to the proper authorities.
Hire a Qualified Attorney
Typically, your loved one will not be the one filing a lawsuit against a nursing home; it will be you. A knowledgeable personal injury attorney can help you narrow down the laws and provide you with a legal strategy. Nursing home abuse cases can be tough and should be handled with the utmost care.
Your attorney will help guide you throughout the process. You should remove your loved one from the care of those who are abusing him or her and seek the correct medical attention right away.